Car Registered in Florida? Fees are Increasing in September

My dear mother-in-law called me this morning with some useful information about Florida driver's license and car registration fees.  It seems that Florida is raising their fees, pretty dramatically, as of September 1st, 2009.  However, if your license or car registration expires within 90 days, you can go ahead and renew at the lower price before the end of August.  Car registrations can be renewed for two years for even more savings!

If you are a Florida resident, this would be a great time to check your driver's license, your car registrations, and your vehicle titles to make sure everything is accurate and up-to-date.  (I mention car titles because I happened to notice that the fee for a duplicate title was going up from $24 to $70, and then realized that we are missing the titles to one of our cars.  Better get that duplicate before August 30th, huh?)

Don't forget that most Florida registrations can be renewed online here.

About the Author

Kate Horrell
Kate Horrell is a military financial coach, mom of four teens, and Navy spouse. She has a background in taxes and mortgage banking, and a trove of experience helping other military families with their money. Follow her on twitter @realKateHorrell.